Wednesday, June 24, 2009

Garden

Our garden is doing great! With the rain we have been having every couple of days and the cool days (until recently), my cool-weather vegetables have been performing well. We're now averaging about 10 hours a week in the garden, with about 1/2 of that time harvesting and the other 1/2 weeding. We have some wild garden plants that we are waiting on results from, they include tomatoes, cilantro, dill, and possibly pumpkins or cucumbers.

Coming into the house this week:

1/2 lb sugar snap peas/day
3/4 lb lettuce/day
1 cup regular peas/day
1 head of brocolli/day
last of the spinach
Cilantro as needed
Tops of Lemon Basil
Couple of cherry tomatoes
Grape Leaves
2 Kohlrabi/week
Various Radishes (did not do well this year, I suspect the seeds I got do not like our region).

Will be coming in soon:

Zucchini (we have 5 plants and they are taking over, each has 1-2 zucchini)
Cucumbers (plenty of flowers, haven't had ones form yet)
Green Beans (plenty of flowers, haven't had ones form yet)
Jalapeno Peppers (got 1 about an inch long)
Parsley (as needed)
Oregano (as needed)

We have had a lot of stir-fry the past week working through some of what has been coming in. The lettuce we have been giving away to friends in need. My wife pickled some of the sugar snap peas and froze a fair amount as well for future stir-fries. She also canned some grape leaves and I'll be needing her to do some more soon.

In mid-July, I'll be starting indoors some Brussels sprouts so that we can have a nice fall crop of them. I planted 20 Endive the past couple of weeks that we will harvest in the fall.

3 comments:

Dedicated said...

I am amazed at how much you have in your garden. 10 hours seems like a lot of time too - how do you guys do it and raise your daughter too? Then the roommates.... Seems like a lot on your plates. Although, I guess it is great for therapy and bonding as a couple. Plus, when your little one gets older she will have great memories with her parents (I think you have a daughter right?)

Sick of Debt said...

Here's how I do my part:

5:30 (or 6) AM - 7 AM: In garden
7-8 AM: Drive to work
8-5 PM: Work
5-6 PM: Drive home
6-7 PM: Dinner
7-8 PM: Playtime with our daughter
8-10 PM: Time with my wife or random projects

My wife is a stay-at-home mom, so she handles the roommate stuff. 10 hours stretched over 7 days comes out to just a bit under an hour & 1/2 a day. The garden fills about 1000 sq feet.

Betsey C. said...

That's fantastic! I also work my garden in the morning, because I am an early bird. I just love the garden in the morning, it's so peaceful. How wonderful that you guys are eating all those healthy vegetables, too. You must feel great, I know I feel a lot better when I have fresh veggies in my diet every day.